Wisconsin State Fair, 8/2/2014

Yesterday I had the privilege of attending the Wisconsin State Fair in West Allis, Wisconsin.  I had three goals when attending the fair:  try the Mac & Cheese Bacon Burger Quesadilla (brand new item this year), have a couple of cream puffs and have two beers.  I achieved every goal, except I fell one beer short.

The quesadilla was at a place called “Mexican Grill”.  It had Mexican-seasoned ground beef, mac & cheese and bacon, all cut into four traditional quesadilla triangles.  It was super delicious.  The cream puffs were as outstanding as I thought they would be.

Here is the rest of what I had.  Drinks wise, I had a pint of Prairie Farms chocolate milk, a 20 ounce bottle of Coke Classic and a large cup of Miller Lite from the tap.  Other than listed before, I had a couple of bites of a three cheese (swiss/american/cheddar) grilled cheese sandwich from a specialty grilled cheese stand.  I had a repeat dish from last year; buffalo chicken dip from the Blue Moon Tavern stand; just as good as I remember.  The big miss of the day, was an order of Barbecue Pulled Pork Nachos from Saz’s.  The restaurant just doesn’t do that much for me, average at best.  Plus they charged $3.50 for a 20 oz bottle of water: I should have paid 2 bucks more to get a beer.  I wish I would have just fought the temptation of the BBQ Nachos, but oh well.

Overall, I think it’s well worth the $10 entry fee.  There are so many damn places to eat. The State Fair is a place where you absolutely cannot worry about your diet.  Feeding frenzy!  The weather was absolutely perfect.  A great scenic environment, where you can just be yourself, hang out with friends/family, and have the time of your life.  8/10

Leave a Reply

